Announcing the winners of  the 2016 T F Evans Award at the September meeting of the Shaw Society ,  Sue Morgan,  curator of Shaw’s house in Ayot St Lawrence  and organiser of this year’s event, said that the  generous donation made by the Evans family in memory of Tom Evans, editor of The Shavian for over forty years, has enabled the Shaw Society to promote the works of Shaw in a fascinating and original manner.

The task  this year was to write an additional scene for a play by Bernard Shaw and, of the 18 entries received, five were shortlisted for the judges to evaluate in  anonymity.   Although very different from each other, two entries stood out and the judges agreed to split the main prize between these two: Theodore D. Kemper of New York,  an American academic who  won first prize in the 2011 TF Evans Award, and Anne Wright who first joined the Shaw Society in 1968 as a post-graduate research student, and then renewed her membership in 2013.  Her PhD thesis was on Heartbreak House, the subject of her winning entry in this year’s awards.

Here is a recording of Epilogue to Heartbreak House recorded at the Shaw Society’s last meeting at Conway Hall on 24 November 2016.  Apologies for the very reverberant acoustic. 

If you would like a copy of the playscript fill in below: